e The Utah State Medicaid DUR Board
ﬁ The Amber Sheet

UTAH DEPARTMENT OF

HEALTH

MEDICAID

An “unofficial” publication of the State DUR Board
Neil Catalano, R.Ph., DUR Board Chairman
Editors: Tim Morley, R.Ph., Lisa Hunt, R.Ph., Robyn Seely, Pharm D., Bobbi Hansen, CPhT.

Volume 20 . Number 2

Cymbalta Limit

The implementation of the new Medicaid pharmacy
point of sale system exposed a vendor programming
error that was not discovered in the old system, and
highlights the need to reiterate an important point
regarding Medicaid policy.

Cymbalta coverage is limited to 60mg per day.
Doses in excess of this limit may be approved with
documentation of an eight week trial and failure on
the approved 60mg/day dose. In April 2007 Utah
Medicaid published the dose limit in both the
Medicaid Information Bulletin (MIB) as well as the
Pharmacy Manual, Drug Criteria and Limits
attachment. In addition, this policy was re-stated in
the April 2011 MIB, and the criteria was updated in
the Pharmacy Manual, and the Drug Criteria and
Limits attachment. Please make sure that when
prescribing or dispensing that Medicaid policy is
observed. It is Medicaid’s understanding that policy
will be observed by the Office of the Inspector
General when conducting compliance audits of the
Medicaid program.

Utah MAC Pricing = New Vendor

Utah Medicaid has contracted with Goold Health
Systems (GHS) to provide Maximum Allowable
Cost (MAC) pricing maintenance. GHS will be
evaluating and updating Utah MAC prices. They
will be conducting quarterly MAC price surveys
beginning April 2012. Your participation is
important to these surveys since more responses
mean more accurate pricing.

GHS will also begin responding to MAC pricing
disputes, and phone numbers will be made available
for pharmacy use. These will be provided in survey
letters containing additional information and will be
sent by GHS to pharmacies beginning the second
calendar quarter of 2012.

April 2012

Metoclopramide Long Term Use

Many clients are prescribed metoclopramide
(Reglan®, MetozolvTM ODT) as a long-term,
maintenance-type drug. Metoclopramide s
indicated for “short term (4 — 12 weeks) therapy for
adults with symptomatic, documented
gastroesophageal reflux who fail to respond to
conventional therapy”. Most Utah Medicaid
prescriptions for metoclopramide appear to be
prescribed in appropriate situations (i.e. after failure
of conventional therapy), but may not be prescribed
for appropriate durations (i.e. under 12 weeks).
Please note: There is a Black Box Warning which,
in part, states that “treatment with metoclopramide
can cause tardive dyskinesia, a serious movement
disorder that is often irreversible. The risk of
developing tardive dyskinesia increases with the
duration of treatment and the total cumulative dose .
. . Treatment with metoclopramide for longer than
12 weeks should be avoided . . .”

Metoclopramide was approved in 1976, and is often
used when newer therapies fail. However, please
consider the serious potential side effects when
prescribing and consider it selectively for durations
under 12 weeks.

Pharmacy Provider Manual Updates

Traditional Program

Chapter 1 - 2 Federal Upper Limit List

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of
2009 (PPACA) established a new methodology for
determining FULs. CMS has not fully implemented
these new guidelines. For further information,
please go to: http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-
CHIP-Program-Information/By-
Topics/Benefits/Prescription-Drugs/Federal-Upper-
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Limits-.html. Medicaid will continue to publish
information as it becomes available. Medicaid
cannot override a FUL price. A DAW option is not
available to override a FUL.

Chapter 1 - 3 Utah MAC List

MAC prices may be used with classes of drugs and
may be applied to all drugs in the class. In these
cases both brand name and generic drugs will be
listed as preferred agents. If the class is not part of a
preferred drug list (PDL), MACs may be applied to
just the generic drugs of the class. In these cases, a
brand name prior authorization will be required in
order to be reimbursed for the brand name drugs.
DAW options are no longer available to override
MAC pricing. MAC prices may be used on drug
categories that have FUL prices.

NonTrad/PCN  Note: Brand name  prior
authorizations are not available for Non-Traditional
and PCN clients. They are responsible for 100% of
the cost when brand name drugs not on the PDL are
dispensed (please see the Non-Traditional and PCN
policy manuals for specifics).

Chapter 2-3 Non-covered Drugs and Services

The list of prescription cough and cold medications
covered by Medicaid is now updated to include the
following drugs: Guaifenesin with
DextroMethorphan (DM) 600/30 tab, Guaifenesin
with Hydrocodone 100/5 liquid, Promethazine with
Codeine, Cheratussin AC, Rondec and Rondec DM
(generic equivalents only), covered over-the-counter
cough and cold remedies are given in the approved
OTC list.

Chapter 3-3 Prior Authorization Process

The prior authorization request process for
medications obtained through the pharmacy has
changed. Pharmacy prior authorizations will no
longer be specific to one pharmacy, they will be
specific to client and product authorized. Prior
authorizations will no longer be issued via telephone
calls. Faxed requests with the proper corresponding
prior authorization request sheet are required. Sheets
are available on the Medicaid Pharmacy Program
website http://health.utah.gov/medicaid/pharmacy/.

The fax number for pharmacy prior authorizations
has changed. Requests can now be sent to 855-828-
4992. When a prior authorization request is denied,
a hearing request form will no longer be faxed back
to the requestor. The form can be found and printed
from the Medicaid Forms website at:
http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid/provhtml/form
s.htm.

Chapter 4-7 Early Refills

The Early Refill section has additional information
added to clarify the early refill process for narcotic
analgesic pain medications. These refills will only
be authorized 30 days after the previous fill and
when 100% of the medication is expected to be used

up.



http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Benefits/Prescription-Drugs/Federal-Upper-Limits-.html
http://health.utah.gov/medicaid/pharmacy/
http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid/provhtml/forms.htm
http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid/provhtml/forms.htm

